Home » Uncategorized » The Poor Voter on Election Day, by John Greenleaf Whittier

The Poor Voter on Election Day, by John Greenleaf Whittier

John Greenleaf Whittier wrote surely one of the best poems about voting, which I reprint for you below.

The proudest now is but my peer,
The highest not more high;
To-day, of all the weary year,
A king of men am I.
To-day, alike are great and small,
The nameless and the known;
My palace is the people’s hall,
The ballot-box my throne!

Who serves to-day upon the list
Beside the served shall stand;
Alike the brown and wrinkled fist,
The gloved and dainty hand!
The rich is level with the poor,
The weak is strong to-day;
And sleekest broadcloth counts no more
Than homespun frock of gray.

To-day let pomp and vain pretence
My stubborn right abide;
I set a plain man’s common sense
Against the pedant’s pride.
To-day shall simple manhood try
The strength of gold and land;
The wide world has not wealth to buy
The power in my right hand!

Go vote! Go poets!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,873 other followers

